Participants 2013

Amir Or / Israel

Amir Or, born in Tel Aviv in 1956, is the author of ten volumes of poetry in Hebrew.

His latest books are The Museum of Time (2007) Heart Beast (2010) and Prophecy of the Madman (2012).

His poems, translated into more than forty languages, have appeared in anthologies, poetry journals, as well as in thirteen books in Europe and Amrica. Among them are Poem and Day (both published by Dedalus, U.K., 2004, 2006,); Plates from the Museum of Time (ArtAark, 2009; Dutch, Azul Press 2012); Miracle/ Milagro (Spanish-English, Urpi Editores, U.S., 2011; Spanish, Colecion Sur, Havana 2013) and  Pohara  (Loot, Serbian, Arhipelag, 2012).

Or is the recipient of Israeli and international poetry awards, including the Pleiades tribute (Struga 2000) for having made “a significant contribution to modern world poetry”, the Fulbright Award for Writers, the Bernstein Prize, the Levi Eshkol Prime Minister’s Poetry Prize, and the Oeneumi literary prize of the Tetovo Poetry Festival (2010). He was also awarded several poetry fellowships, among them fellowships from Iowa University; the Centre of Jewish-Hebrew Studies at the University of Oxford; the Literarische Colloquium, Berlin; the Heinrich Böll Foundation, Ireland; and the Hawthornden Castle, Scotland.

He is a founding member of the EACWP (European Association of Creative Writing Programs) of the international Circle of Poets and of the WPM (World Poetry Movement).